scuzmuffin

Value Of English Setter Statues

Hello...

We have been unpacking my Grandmothers things and have found a pair of English Setter statues. They measure about 4"x5" and the glaze is a bronzish brown with green patina. The makers mark is sort of blurry at the end but it reads ...FRANKO??... on one statue and is barely visible on the other. After reading some of the posts I think the clay is Ada as it is kind of a golden mustard color. They are in excellent condition.

Are these Frankoma pieces and can you tell me the value if they are?

Thank you.

P.S. I wanted to put a picture in but don't know how.

Hi Scuz, I'm a fellow newbie like yourself and you'll most likely get more definitive answers from the helpful experts/admins here, but I thought I'd take a crack at answering your question. It sounds like your figurines are mold #163 mini English Setter by Frankoma. The glaze is probably prairie green. If you do a search on Ebay for Frankoma and "prairie green" you will see some examples of items that have this glaze. According to various items previously sold on Ebay the actual size of this item is 3" tall by 4 1/4" long. I'm going to try to include a photo from a recently closed Ebay auction. In order to do so, I will click on the insert image button (2nd icon to right of smiley insert icon)

rte-image-button.png

and then provide a link(you have to first upload your image to a website webstorage area...cox provides one for me)

260255385176_1_0_1.jpg

Hope I didn't overstep my bounds.

Danny in Yorktown, VA

Bounds? What bounds? This is a forum for all things Frankoma and, whether you're a newbie or a knowledgeable collector, you're welcome to question and comment.