antoninus

Homer Laughlin Colonial White Backstamp

Hi,

I'm new to collecting these.

Is this an original backstamp for the Colonial White series?

I believe made in the late 60's and mostly 70's.

This is a 10" plate.

I was curious because there are no letters or numbers to date this other than the pattern.

But I'm not sure all HL items were dated.

stamp.jpg

Thankyou for your help,

Doug

normal_colonialb.jpg

Doug --

Colonial White is what is termed a "pattern" made on the Dover shape. There were many patterns made on the Dover shape, and the plain, white pieces were known as Colonial White. Your plate is a 16-sided piece, and it's undeniably Colonial White. Quoting from Homer Laughlin: Decades of Dinnerware by Bob Page, Dale Frederiksen and Dean Six:

The Dover shape was created in the late 1960's, when interest in American Colonial designs was popular. It was produced throughout the 1970's and into the early 1980's. The most popular pattern on this multi-sided form was Colonial White, an undecorated white pattern. Homer Laughlin assigned numbers to most Dover patterns, a letter code and number for the specific pattern decoration. Most patterns have the designation CW for Colonial White, and not D for Dover. The interest in the 1976 American Bicentennial helped sales of Dover patterns remain strong through the 1970's. Many Bicentennial Commemoratives were produced on the shape. Amber/brown and green glazed Dover patterns were also produced to coordinate with the harvest gold and avocado colors used in kitchens of the period. The shape was used to make china marketed by others and may have backstamps by other manufacturers or none at all.