iowasongbird

Seeking Glaze Information

Hello all!

I am fairly new to the world of Frankoma collecting. About a year ago, I began selling vintage cookware & dinnerware on eBay. The result has been lots of trips to thrift stores & flea markets to find treasures to resell. In the process, I discovered & fell in love with Frankoma! I have been collecting purely with my eyes & heart - if I like a piece, I buy it. There has been very little rhyme or reason to it. My collection has become large enough that its designated display area is cluttered, so I am thinking that I may need to sell a few pieces to make room for new ones. My dilemma is that I know very little about the pottery. The thing I am most eager to learn is how to identify the glazes (color photos & names). I know there are some collectors' books out there, but would love a recommendation as to which one is the best to start with. Also, any other websites I can add to my favorites list would be helpful.

I have read through a few of the forum topics and it seems that you all are a very helpful bunch. Hopefully you can help me out too!

Thanks!

Bethany

You can go a long way towards becoming, if not a Frankoma Expert, at least Very Knowledgeable with the help of this book: "Collector's Guide to Frankoma Pottery 1933 through 1990, Identifying Your Collection including Gracetone" by Gary V. Schaum. While it does not cover every piece of Frankoma ever made, especially the newer pieces (which are not as valuable) It is by far the most comprehensive book on the subject of Frankoma. It also has many fine photos, a time line for the glazes, some history and more.