Sign in to follow this  
labinski

Party On A Platter - Fiestaware Article

Party on a Platter -- Fiestaware propagates through collectors, branding

May 20,2006 Kate Lohnes Link to article

McAllen Monitor Staff Writer

If a bull were released in Fred Mutchler's home instead of the proverbial china shop, it wouldn't just break a plate. It would wreak havoc.

A middle school teacher in Minneapolis, Minnesota, Mutchler is a dinnerware collector of serious proportions, most notably as a collector of the coveted Fiesta dishes. Of the more than 4,500 pieces he has collected since the 1970s, Mutchler said 1,500 of them are vintage and recent Fiesta dinnerware.

"I hate to admit (I've spent) in excess of six figures," Mutchler said, estimating what he has spent on Fiesta dinnerware over the past several decades. "For me, it's an enjoyable passion. I love to exhibit it and I love learning from it. I'm a researcher by nature and I love delving into the history of it."

Mutchler is one of many collectors enamored with the Fiesta dish line, formally titled "Fiesta dinnerware" but affectionately called "Fiestaware." With its bright colors, durability and collectible nature, some experts say Fiesta has proven itself worthy of "American icon" status.

Fiesta dinnerware is only one of several product lines made by the Homer Laughlin China Company, which was founded in 1871 in Newell, West Virginia. Homer Laughlin also manufactures heavier-duty china for the hospitality business, said Ray Liebman, marketing consultant for the company, but slightly less than half its sales come from Fiesta.