Guest Adam

How Come Eggs/fish Still Stick?

Guest Adam

Hi, I am new to cast iron, and just got a skillet. I seasoned it according to about 4 different web sites in the oven. When I cook eggs or seasoned fish, some of the food still sticks to the bottom :( Do I heat the pan before adding food? Do I add oil? Is the pan too hot for cooking? Please help!

Adam

From my experience the cast iron must be hot before putting food in.

I always add a small amount of cooking oil when I put the CI on the stove. When is moves around as if it were water, I figure it is hot enough. I also keep moving the meat about the pan until it gets that first hint of a glaze (or whatever it is really called) that keeps it from sticking.

A properly seasoned CI pot or skillet will rarely need anthing more than being wiped out after use.

Yes, you should always preheat cast-iron and add a small bit of oil or better yet (in my opinion) lard, beef tallow, or bacon grease to prevent sticking. It's also a good indicator of when the pan is hot... if the grease is all liquid, it's ready. Plus you get the tasty flavors only natural fats provide.

I wipe my cast iron skillets, oil them, then store them in or under the oven. Luckily I use mine often enough to prevent the oil from going rancid.

As I understand it, hydrogenated lard doesn't go rancid at room temperature for a VERY long time. No small wonder it was used on cast iron for ages. So maybe this is a better option if you don't use your CI so much, I'm really an expert in that field.

On a healthier note, the lard you buy in the super market is usually a blend of hydrogenated and non-hydrogenated lards. Fully hydrogenated oils/fats contain NO Trans-Fat, unlike shortening which is partially hydrogenated. So, although you get a tick on your saturated fat meter, you don't gain any of the nasty effects of an artificial fat that the body isn't quite sure what to do with. :titanic: